The Pit Boss
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
The Pit Boss

The American Pit Bull Terrier

HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log in  

Show basics feel free to add on those that show!

Go down 
4 posters
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
redsky

Show basics feel free to add on those that show! Empty
PostSubject: Show basics feel free to add on those that show!   Show basics feel free to add on those that show! Icon_minitimeFri Dec 22, 2006 4:07 am

Ok keep in mind i'm no pro actually new to showing myself and still learning.

The first things you wanna do is go check out an actual show first. Learn the structure inside and out to make sure you know what your going up against when you get to the show. I always size up the competition (doesn't mean I'm always right but I kind of know what to expect sometimes). You wanna make sure you got the proper show equipment. I personally thougth in the beginning a choker (the ones you can get from the dollar store that can of look like an ordinary chain link choke) was the type you show in WRONG!! You want a hexagone type or similar unless you go nylon (www.kvvet.com has some show chokes you can check out) you'll also find there will be venders at some shows (MI always has one there). You also want to get the right type of lead, I bought a leather one but never use it didn't even post it in the pic because I only use it before the show to walk sierra around in then i switch out when they call pits in. You also want to make sure to check all the boards when you get to the show location to see what ring and when your groups is going. When you first go in the ring you line up along the side I was told to always try and get that first spot which is called the corner and suppose to be a spot where the judge gets the best view of the dog here is a pic:

Show basics feel free to add on those that show! 08-19-06theshow034